FoodWise Action Alert: Spokane's Only Zoned-Agricultural Farmland Under Development Threat

Author(s): 
Chrys Ostrander

Picture showing housing development destroying farmland

Spokane! Don't let this happen to your only remaining zoned-agricultural farmland.

Public Hearing May 2 at 9am in the Council Chambers, Lower Level of Spokane City Hall

This property is in Vinegar Flats along the banks of Latah Creek. Can't we find a better way to manage this precious parcel? It should be growing food, not housing units.

The development project is called Deep Pine Overlook. Official information about the proposal is on the City's website at https://my.spokanecity.org/projects/deep-pine-overlook/.

More detail and talking points will be added here soon. FoodWise Subscribers receive the newsletter and Action Alerts in their email inboxes (they may experience slightly heavier traffic for the next two weeks as we near the hearing date on this issue).

Contact Chrys Ostrander: farmrchrys@gmail.com for more information.

Meanwhile, although the official written comment period passed on April 12 (oral testimony will be taken at the hearing on May 2), if you live in Spokane, it wouldn't hurt for you to contact the Mayor, your City Councilmember and the City Planning Department. Ask them to make sure that the preservation of Spokane's crucial agricultural resources is placed as a top priority and consideration in ALL of its planning decisions. Here are their contact information:

Mayor David A. Condon
mayor@spokanecity.org

City Council President
Ben Stuckart
City Council President
bstuckart@spokanecity.org

District 1

Kate Burke
City Council Member
kateburke@spokanecity.org

Mike Fagan
City Council Member
mfagan@spokanecity.org

District 2

Breean Beggs
City Council Member
bbeggs@spokanecity.org

Lori Kinnear
City Council Member
lkinnear@spokanecity.org

District 3

Candace Mumm
City Council Member
cmumm@spokanecity.org

Karen Stratton
City Council Member
kstratton@spokanecity.org

----------------

Planning and Development Services 
Tami Palmquist, AICP, CFM 
Associate Planner 
tpalmquist@spokanecity.org

Edition: 
Action Alert April, 2019